Cristiano Ronaldo wins Fifa best player award beating Lionel Messi Cristiano Ronaldo wins Fifa best player award beating Lionel Messi

Cristiano Ronaldo has been named FIFA’s Best Men’s Player for 2016.

Cristiano Ronaldo takes the award beating Lionel Messi and Antoine Griezmann to claim the prize in Zurich.

Real Madrid and Portugal forward Ronaldo, 31, beat Barcelona’s Lionel Messi and Atletico Madrid’s Antoine Griezmann to the prize.

Ronaldo also won the Ballon d’Or in December, with both honours recognition for success in the Champions League with Real and Euro 2016 with Portugal.

The Best FIFA Men’s Player award is voted for by each of 211 nations comprising the national team captain, manager, and a journalist, and fans registered on — each group holding 25 percent of electoral weight — for a player’s performances from Nov. 20, 2015 to Nov. 22, 2016.

Ronaldo earned 34.54 percent of total votes while Messi finished second with 26.42 percent and Greizmann was third at 7.53 percent.

Cristiano Ronaldo (L) accepted his award from FIFA president Gianni Infantino in Zurich on Monday.

“I’d like to thank my team, national team, Real Madrid, my trainer, my family that came here, my son, my brothers,” Ronaldo said in accepting the award. “2016 was the best year of my career, the trophy shows that people aren’t blind and watch the games.

“With everything I won with my national team and club, with great individual performance, I can’t forget this incredible year. Thanks for voting for me.

“I don’t have much more to say, I think the awards speak for themselves. I’m not going to do the scream, just the motion.”

Five-time Ballon d’Or winner Messi shone as Barca won the 2015-16 La Liga title, but the Argentina international was upstaged this year by Ronaldo, who won both the UEFA Champions League with Real Madrid and Euro 2016 with Portugal in a stunning year.

Ronaldo scored 61 goals and registered 20 assists in 60 games for club and country during voting period (48 goals in 47 games for Real Madrid; 13 in 13 games for Portugal), while Messi netted 59 goals, 34 assists in 64 games (51 goals in 53 games for Barcelona; eight in 11 games for Argentina) and lost in the Copa America final to Chile.

Full list of awards:

Men’s player: Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal)

Women’s player: Carli Lloyd (United States)

Men’s coach: Claudio Ranieri (Leicester City)

Women’s coach: Silvia Neid (Germany)

FIFA Fair Play: Atletico Nacional (Colombia)

FIFA Puskas best goal: Mohd Faiz Subri (Penang FA)

Outstanding career: Falcao (Brazil)

Fans: Borussia Dortmund/Liverpool.


Manuel Neuer (Germany/Bayern Munich); Dani Alves (Brazil/Juventus), Gerard Pique (Spain/Barcelona), Sergio Ramos (Spain/Real Madrid), Marcelo (Brazil/Real Madrid); Luka Modric (Croatia/Real Madrid, Toni Kroos (Germany/Real Madrid), Andres Iniesta (Spain/Barcelona); Lionel Messi (Argentina/Barcelona), Luis Suarez (Uruguay/Barcelona), Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal/Real Madrid).

No comments so far.

Be first to leave comment below.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *